The 2016 Gathering of the Green

My parents and I visited Moline, IL this week to attend the 2016 Gathering of the Green. While Dad was learning about/talking about John Deere tractors and growing up on the farm, Mom and I went on a couple tours to explore this corner of Iowa and Illinois. This post is one day behind schedule because we were on the road all day yesterday. Blogging is much easier when you have access to a full computer and consistent WiFi!

The first and most fun (in my opinion) was a tour of three quilting shops in the River Valley on Thursday. Their information is available at the end of this post. Mom and I aren’t quilters, but we loved looking at all the gorgeous fabrics and especially the stunning display quilts! Inspired, we purchased several fat quarters, patterns, and materials.

20160321_074607

The last shop we visited offered a free class on making mug rugs. They are quick and seemingly simple if you know what you’re doing. I, on the other hand, was too concentrated on getting mine to turn out sort of nice that the instructor kept saying I looked worried.

20160317_172822

The next time I try this, it will turn out better. They had more complex designs that would be fun to try too, including some that would feature machine embroidery designs beautifully.

We toured the shops of downtown Galena on Friday. Lots of neat specialty shops to see but not enough time to see everything. We came across a great yarn shop at the end of our time in town called FiberWild! I found a gorgeous pattern called the Gradient 1 Wrap, written by Amy Loberg. At last I know what I’ll be making with my Juniper Moon yarn! More on that particular project soon to come…

As we passed through several clothing stores on the tour, I ran into my usual problem: the clothes looked great on someone else but needed a few modifications to meet my non-fashion sense of style. Well if I can learn to sew mug rugs and bench pillows, surely I can learn how to sew a few cute tops too?

So that’s my goal for the summer: to learn how to sew and expand my wardrobe beyond t-shirts and jeans in the process. Can’t wait to see what comes of it!

I know I didn’t talk much about tractors even though we went to a John Deere gathering, but don’t worry. We got our fill of that too…check out my traveling gnome buddy Werner learning to drive a (giant!) tractor with Dad!

20160319_140443

Next time you’re in the area, check out…

Heartland Cottons
615 10th St.
DeWitt, IA
http://www.heartlandcottons.com/

Susan’s Calico Creations
1108 4th St.
Fulton, IL
http://www.susancalicocreations.com/

Keeping You Sewing
226 4th Ave. S.
Clinton, IA
http://www.keepingyousewing.com/

 

4 thoughts on “The 2016 Gathering of the Green

Leave a Reply

