Stories Are Made Of Starstuff

It’s been a while since I’ve spent much time with Adobe Photoshop. I mostly use the program as a high-end Paint program and start scribbling with my trusty Wacom Bamboo tablet. Two summers ago, I took an online Intro to Photoshop class to learn how to use more of the software. I also took classes on InDesign, Dreamweaver, and Illustrator.

I haven’t gotten to spend as much time as I’d like tinkering in these programs because I’ve been focusing on other projects instead. It took three days of scribbling, exploring, trying to remember how to do actions I knew were possible, and a lot of trial-and-error. Photoshop provides a sometimes overwhelming amount of buttons and menus. I am so thankful for the keyboard shortcuts that are also provided.

This is the final product:

storiesaremadeofstardust

The working title is “Stories Are Made Of Starstuff.” The idea came from a famous Carl Sagan quote from his book Cosmos: “The nitrogen in our DNA, the calcium in our teeth, the iron in our blood, the carbon in our apple pies were made in the interiors of collapsing stars. We are made of starstuff.” The motto for NerdCon: Stories 2015 was “We Are Made Of Stories.” Why not combine the two?

The source material for this piece includes text from two of my stories that were published in Satori, called “Nothing Is Certain But Caffeine And Homework” (Satori 2010) and “Locked Out” (Satori 2013). I also used cover images from the 2010, 2011, and 2013 issues of Satori. Credit for the original cover art belongs to the 2010 Satori Art/Design Staff (Satori 2010), an unlisted artist (Satori 2011), and Kayla Fayerweather (Satori 2013). The background layer was made using DeviantArt muro, which I also used to create the banner image for this blog. It offers some fun brushes that I love to scribble with.

This project was a great re-introduction to the Adobe Creative Suite. I’m excited to keep exploring the software this summer.

Leave a Reply

