What to do, what to do…

I have this amazing talent of not buying enough yarn to make a project. When I finally realize my blunder, the yarn I need is often discontinued, or I can’t find an exact color match. This time around, I ran out of yarn with just four rows to go.

So what do you do?

  1. You could attempt to track down an extra skein of the needed yarn and hope it matches. This is an exercise in frustration and mild despair. And of course, you’ll also have to find a project that can use the remaining 90% of the new skein.
  2. You could unravel the entire project and make something else, but why put in all the hard work with little to show for it?
  3. You could look for a way to alter your pattern slightly to accommodate the materials you already have. This depends on the complexity of the pattern and how far back you’d have to unravel. If done right, you might get your original project done faster.

This time around, I’m going with option #3. During the second color transition on the Gradient 1 Wrap, I ran out of my turquoise color 2 with just four rows left to knit in this color. Sure enough, my yarn of choice is available, but not in the color I’m using. The shawl is nearly two-thirds complete, so I have no intention of picking a different project. That leaves altering the pattern.

Thankfully, the pattern is easy to follow and can be altered pretty easily. I’m shortening the color 2 section by 6 rows so that I have a tiny bit extra by the end of the transition section. This will make the shawl about an inch shorter. Not a huge difference in the long run. Now I just need to use scrap yarn to put in a lifeline, carefully unravel back to this restart point, and put the shawl back on the needles.

I have a good feeling that I’ll need to shorten the color 3 section slightly as well, but we’ll tackle that problem when we get that far. I look forward to sharing the final project with you very soon!

Leave a Reply

