10 To Go (Plus 2…)!

Happy March! It’s been a busy few months of crafting for this knitter. I’ve been learning some new crafting skills and reached an important landmark on my original project list.

Current WIP Mountain Stats

Total WIPs: 12
Travel WIPs: 4
At-home WIPs: 6
Special WIPs: 2

I’ve finally reached 10 projects to go, minus special projects. Feels like a big accomplishment considering that the original list was 19 projects long.

My Gradient 1 Wrap is finally finished! It took a long time to decide what the yarn for this project would eventually become. I bought the first skein of yarn before I had a pattern in mind. I got another skein in a second color when I thought I found the right pattern. Finally, I bought a third skein in third color when I found the Gradient 1 Wrap pattern at FiberWild! during our Gathering of the Green trip last March. It only took about two months of actual knitting, but about a year and a half of searching for project ideas. Yikes!

I’ve never actually pinned and blocked a knitting project before this past weekend, when I blocked 3 projects that truly needed it. Check out the before and after pictures of the Gradient 1 Wrap! Minimal rippling! And a very cozy wrap to wear too. đŸ™‚

The baby blanket I mentioned last time is also completed. We held a baby shower at work for the mom-to-be and I think she really liked the Oh, The Places You’ll Go Baby Blanket. I had some fun taking pictures earlier that morning, as you’ll see on the project page on Ravelry.

Recently added to the project list are two additional special projects. One is an adorable Golden Retriever Puppy plushie for a co-worker. The second is two pairs of Auden’s Advice fingerless mittens. One is for a co-worker who was kind enough to share the pattern and one is for myself.

I finished the test right-hand glove a few weeks ago. The fair isle turned out decently and the glove mostly fits! Well, except for the thumb… I tend to knit tightly, so I’ve been knitting these gloves inside-out to provide a little more stretch. I am currently knitting a left-hand glove with a different thumb, borrowed from the Lola’s Flip-Top Mittens pattern. I’ve made three variations of the Flip-Top Mittens before that have all fit wonderfully. Once this next test-glove is finished, I’ll know for sure how well this new thumb fits with the original pattern.

I got to try on the half-finished glove on Friday once the thumb gusset stitches were placed on the stitch holder. The thumb appears to fit well…but it’s not on the correct side for a left-hand glove. I unraveled my work back to a row before the thumb starts and am starting that part over. I’m also tinkering with the fair isle pattern on the palm, which designer Jennifer Burek Pierce allows us to improvise. Stay tuned for more on this particular project soon!

In addition to these two special projects, I am also continuing work on the Serenity shawl. I’ve just finished the first lace section, and I’m excited to see how it turns out.

Two cross-stitch projects, the Beautiful Savior and the Hummel Quartet are currently being stretched and framed. They’ve been otherwise finished for quite some time now. It will be so nice to finally display them!

It’s only March (yay spring!), but I am already looking ahead to the warmer months of summer. The current plan is to spend more time on sewing and cross-stitching because it will be too hot to knit for long stretches of time. I’m hoping to focus some time on designing my Farbie and Sasquatch plushie patterns too. Designing time still counts as crafting time, right? I still plan to have at least one of the green-dot projects going at all times because it’s nice to have a project to take for breaks at work or watching a movie at a friend’s house.

What have you been crafting recently? Feel free to share your projects in the comments. In the meantime, happy crafting! đŸ™‚

One thought on “10 To Go (Plus 2…)!

Leave a Reply

