It’s Beginning To Feel A Lot Like Summer

When does summer officially start? Is it the first 80-degree day? Does it start as soon as area students have their last day of school? Do we wait until the summer solstice a few months from now?

Personally, I stick with the school year schedule, which usually means the first week of June. That’s as good a time as any to make summer plans and make a crafting progress update.

Current WIP Mountain Stats

Total WIPs: 16
Travel WIPs: 4
At-home WIPs: 6
Special WIPs: 6

Well, that’s quite a few more special WIPs than last time… Two are baby gifts, one is a private KAL that Mom and I are doing together so she can build her knitting skills, another is intended for open knitting time at a local yarn shop, and two were from a recent family road trip. A few of these new projects also happen to be from the MN Yarn Shop Hop, which I had been struggling to avoid.

Finished Projects

The main project I focused on in March was Auden’s Advice. Both pairs of gloves are finally finished! And I still have some black and pink yarn to use in another project. Maybe I could use them with some leftover Unicorn Tails from my Second Sock Syndrome Hat? Might make a cute cowl or fingerless gloves… We’ll see. 🙂

Pictured are both sides of the gloves’ design, next to the single test glove, which featured a thumb that just didn’t work out as hoped. The actual gloves incorporate the thumb gusset from Lola’s Flip Top Mittens. One pair is for my friend Amy, who got the pattern as one of her perks from the 2016 Project For Awesome and was kind enough to share it with me. I hope she loves them! I’m keeping the test pair for myself because they don’t look quite as nice but are still cozy and warm.

 

As mentioned in my last update, I have two cross-stitch projects back from the framers. These projects were technically already finished, so they aren’t included in my current WIP count.

beautifulsaviorframed

First is the Beautiful Savior that I made for my mom because it’s her favorite hymn. The pastel in the title and the hearts at the bottom are a little hard to see in the photo. The beadwork really makes the design pop.

Second is the Hummel Quartet. Grandma was about halfway finished with this piece when she passed away in 2010. The picture on the left shows what she had completed. I saved this piece and a several others she’d been working on because I felt they needed to be finished. This piece is especially important because she enjoyed Hummel figurines so much.

I also wanted to show off my finished Fanny shawlette. It’s been off the needles for a few months now, but I finally got it blocked, took pictures, and found an outfit or two that I think it looks nice with. It’s a nice light shawlette that will be fun to wear.

Making Great Progress

Two projects on my list are original patterns. I’ve been wanting to create plushies of my original characters Farbie and Sasquatch, who I’ve been drawing since sometime in middle school. I spent a math-filled weekend in late March coming up with the right measurements for both characters, and I finally have the outlines of both patterns ready to go. Pattern-writing is equal to actual stitching in my book! 🙂 Now to find the right yarn for a test knit.

Up Next

Mom and I are in the middle of a private KAL for “The Pattern Your Way” from the Shop Hop. Mom claims that she’s not a knitter, but she’s knit beautiful things, like a garter stitch wrap out of Lion Brand Homespun that keeps her warm in the winter. Crocheting is her craft of choice, but she fell in love with Unwind Yarn Shop‘s 2017 Hop pattern. She’s practicing her purl stitches at the moment. When she’s feeling comfortable, she’ll be working on the scarf version of the pattern. I’m going for the cowl version, which I’ll be able to wear more easily at work. I’m going to knit one full repeat of the garter section and the flame section so we have an example to look at.

My parents and I took a road trip down to Madison, WI the weekend before Memorial Day. I brought a small one-skein project with me for the five-hour drive – the Labyrinth Owl Hat. That project only lasted for the first day and a half of the trip. I still have the pom-pom to make and the buttons to add, but that will be done soon. Luckily, The Sow’s Ear is in the area, so I stopped in and picked up a gorgeous skein of Malabrigo Sock in the colorway Reflecting Pool, which will become Love In Every Stitch.

I’m participating in Twisted Loop Yarn Shop’s Finish-It-Summer! The projects I’ve entered are:

  1. Labyrinth Owl Hat
  2. It’s A Wonderful World
  3. The Pattern Your Way
  4. Golden Retriever Puppy
  5. Serenity
  6. Jingle Bells Baby Hat

We get to enter as many projects as we’d like that were started before May 15th, and we have until August 25th to finish as many of those projects as possible. Then we need to bring our projects to Prior Lake to show them off and enter them. This event will be great motivation for crafting this summer.

Meanwhile, Lakeside Yarn moved their open knitting time to Sundays from 2-4. Mom and I won’t be able to attend every week, but we will stop in when we can. This will be the perfect time to work on my It’s A Wonderful World.

What are your summer crafting plans? I’d love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

