MN Yarn Shop Hop 2017 Day 2 Adventures

notes2
Another day, another note… 🙂

Day 2 certainly was an adventure driving-wise. I visited five stores yesterday, and to get to each required lots of city driving, which can be a little nerve-wracking sometimes.

Stop #4: Knit’N From The Heart in Woodbury

I loved the “Springtime In Paris” theme! It might have worked more as an art- or travel-inspired theme, but that hardly matters when the yarn on display is so lovely.

Pattern: “A Walk Through Monet’s Garden” by Tamara Del Sonno

Yarn: Smooshy 100% superwash merino by Dream In Color in the Garden colorway and Smooshy Petites 100% superwash merino in the Path colorway (see what they did there?). The same set was available in Smooshy with Cashmere.

knittingfromtheheart

I love everything about this yarn. It reminds me of Grandma tending to her garden, and I’m looking forward to working with the merino version of the Shop Hop yarn.

First impressions: This group knows how to create a display! There’s lots to explore here, but what really caught my eye were the shop samples and the Shop Hop display. I plan to visit again next time I’m in the area.

Stop #5: 3 Kittens Needle Arts in Mendota Heights

It’s Saturday Night (or rather Friday morning) Fever in this yarn and needlecraft shop!

Pattern: “Disco Ball Shawl” by Laura Rasmussen and “Disco Inferno Mitt” by Shelley Pabst

Yarn: Diva 75% merino wool, 20% nylon, 5% stellina by Mollygirl Yarn in colorways That’s The Way I Like It and Funkytown

3kittens

I didn’t get any yarn here, but I’m seriously thinking of going back to get a skein of That’s The Way I Like It. What a fun purple!

First impressions: This is definitely a one-stop shop for crafters! They specialize in both yarn and needlecrafts, which makes this knitter/crocheter/cross-stitcher very happy.

Just before I got to 3 Kittens, I started to run low on fuel. Thankfully there was a gas station right across the highway!

Stop #6: The Yarnery in St. Paul

This store was celebrating all things Bob Dylan, especially two of his greatest hits.

Pattern: “Tangled Up In Blue Hat” and “Tangled Up In Blue Mitts” by Ted Beverly

Yarn: Fave Sock 100% superwash merino gradient yarn sets by Fiberstory in colorways Blowin’ In The Wind and The Times They Are A-Changin’. One gradient set is meant to be enough for both hat and matching mitts.

I didn’t get any yarn here either, but I’ve got the perfect yarn at home to make those fingerless mitts.

yarnery

First impressions: I had almost forgotten that I’ve been here once before. It’s a fun shop to visit on a quiet day, with lots of little nooks to explore. It’s a bit more challenging when there’s a crowd. The shop owners did an amazing job taking the stamp pad down the line to help hoppers with their passports.

Stop #7: StevenBe… in Minneapolis

StevenBe and team love to make a statement. It’s no surprise that they went Gaga as their musical inspiration.

Pattern: “Gaga Shroud” (and “Crochini“) by StevenBe. I don’t think the Crochini is technically a Shop Hop pattern, but it was available at check-in, so I’m going with it. Besides, Steven is famous for his Ponchini and its many variations.

Yarn: Yowza 100% superwash merino by Miss Babs in a very large variety of colorways. Or, you could pick GaGa or Lumber Sexual by House of A La Mode. All skeins included hot pink “StevenBe Goes Gaga” slap bracelets.

stevenbe

I skipped over the Shop Hop yarns this time. Instead, I picked out a skein of Galaxy Fingering 75% superwash merino, 20% nylon, 5% stellina in the colorway Chosen One by Wild Hare Fiber Studio. This colorway appears to be inspired by the show Buffy The Vampire Slayer. I have yet to see this show, but I intend to watch while knitting once I decide what I’m making with this awesome yarn. I picked it because the sparkly purple makes me think of galaxies and nebulas.

First impressions: Talk about a party! Just for the event, Hoppers get to take a picture with StevenBe himself and special guest star Lady Gaga (sort of)! Steven had just wandered off when I arrived and the camera man went to go wrangle him (their words not mine!). We got to jam to Lady Gaga’s music as we shopped, which was tons of fun. Steven and his team are true extroverts, floating around the store and checking in on their visitors frequently. If you’re looking for bright and vibrant yarns, this is the place to go!

Stop #8: Linden Yarn & Textiles in Linden Hills

This store was also celebrating Bob Dylan, but with a twist. I love the story behind the design!

lindenhills1

Pattern: “Tom On Bass” by Chris Rieffer

This is a double-knitting pattern inspired by Chris’s husband Tom, who plays bass in a band. One of the songs they perform is “Highway 61” by Bob Dylan, and the design features a lithograph of this song being played.

Yarn: Jilly with Cashmere 70% superwash merino, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon by Dream in Color in the colorway Pandora, paired with 6 different colors.

linden

Only two of the six options were available when I arrived early Friday afternoon. I chose Lost In Plum for the other half of my pair. My favorite route back to Winona State was always the scenic Highway 61 route, so I was especially excited about the song choice. The fact that I get to knit this pattern with purple yarn makes it that much more fitting.

First impressions: Again, this won’t count as true first impressions. I’ve visited a few times, but for once I didn’t get lost on the way here. Chris and her team are wonderful, knowledgeable, and super helpful. They’ve already helped me pick the perfect yarns for the pattern I’m starting a couple of times. Once, they helped me pick the right pattern for the yarn I wanted to use (plus some Unicorn Tails to really make the design pop). Though it may look small on the outside, there’s plenty of room to explore I’m already looking forward to the next visit!

That’s all for Day 2. I worked all day, so I didn’t get the chance to visit any stores today. Stay tuned for Day 4 adventures!

P.S. A big hello and shoutout to my fellow Hoppers. What adventures have you had so far? Please feel free to share! Happy hopping!

Leave a Reply

